We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Theoretical Girl

by Gentleman Reg

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 CAD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD version of the album in a clear jewel case. With graphics and design by Tyler Clark Burke. Painting by Nancy Ogilvie and Photography from Melanie Archibald.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Theoretical Girl via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $7 CAD or more 


Stealthcat 04:06
Trouble 04:09
Tricks 03:13


The first Gentleman Reg album from 2000! Never before online until NOW. Oh My!
While this obviously a huge deal in my life and music career, I really never think about this album or listen to it, and recently I did and thought perhaps others out in the world will enjoy hearing where this all began. And truthfully I think there are some gems on here. About as quirky as my songwriting ever was!
This was also one of the first releases for Three Gut Records alongside Jim Guthrie and Royal City. So it was a beginning for me but also for that label which went on the release some pretty sweet music.
It also features some killer musicians like Tim Kingsbury (Arcade Fire), Jamie Thompson (The Unicorns/Islands), Elizabeth Powell (Land Of Talk), Jim Guthrie (Royal City/Sword & Sworcery soundtrack) and many more I'll list all below.


released January 1, 2000

Reg Vermue: vocals, guitar, synths.
Simon Osborne: bass.
Jamie Thompson: drums.
Elizabeth Powell: violin on 'To Have Regrets'.
Tim Kingsbury: bass on 'Stealthcat'.
Jim Guthrie: vocals on 'Clothes For Feelings', add. guitar on 'Plan On Including Me' and 'One Of The Hours', percussion on 'Plan On Including Me'.
James Ogilvie: Vocals and fuzz bass on 'Coming Up Blue', percussion on 'Trouble'.
Evan Gordon: keys on 'Trouble'.
Nathan Lawr: drums on 'Coming Up Blue'.
Michael Barclay: organ on 'You Can Be Happy' and 'Coming Up Blue'.
Nancy Ogilvie: vocals on 'Tricks', 'Plan On Including Me' and 'Trouble'.
Tim Kramer: cello on 'To Have Regrets' and 'Green Sleeves'.

All songs and lyrics by Reg Vermue.
Arrangements by all the musicians listed.
All songs recorded between Oct. 98' and Nov. 99' by James Ogilvie and Evan Gordon in Guelph.
Mixed by James Ogilvie, except 'Clothes For Feelings' mixed by Jim Guthrie.
Mastered by Joao Carvalho at Umbrella.

Photographs by Melanie Archibald.
Painting by Nancy Ogilvie.
Layout and design by Tyler Clark Burke.


all rights reserved



Gentleman Reg Toronto, Ontario

Leisure Life Demos. Recorded in 2010, released in 2020. Seems appropriate.

contact / help

Contact Gentleman Reg

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

Gentleman Reg recommends:

If you like Gentleman Reg, you may also like: